Biancomangiare alle Mandorle

Set puddings made of sweetened almond milk, covering a layer of tart raspberry jam.

image

This is the first recipe I tried out of my new cookbook; Sweet Sicily. I bought the cookbook as soon as I got back off holiday as I loved the food in Sicily so much, and there were loads of things I didn’t get to try!

One of the desserts I missed out on when I was on holiday was a Biancancomangerie, which is basically like a pana cota, but made using almond milk rather than cream.

image

The recipe was really really easy, and it worked really well first time round, so hopefully that will be the case will all the recipes in my new book!

These desserts have a really unusual taste, I don’t think I’ve ever had almond milk before so it was a completely new flavour for me! But it has a really nice light but nutty and flavourful finish. It’s also gluten and dairy free, so a great one to have in your repertoire!

image

My only disappointment in how this dessert turned out is the colour. I should have splashed out and bought a better quality of almond milk, as the one I used had a light brown colour,meaning the dessert is not the pure white colour it should be, but at least I know for next time!

I don’t own any pana cota moulds so I made them in ramekins with some lemon curd or raspberry jam at the bottom, but to my surprise I could actually tip them out of the ramekins and they kept their shape beautifully.

image

Variations: I think this would taste really good with some chocolate chips or caramelised nuts on top. You could also a try a mixture of cream and almond milk for a richer finish.

Ingredients: Makes 6-8 puddings

  • 1 litre of almond milk
  • 200g sugar
  • 90g cornflour
  • 1tsp vanilla essence

optional:

  • raspberry jam
  • lemon curd

image

To Make:

In a small bowl combine the cornflour with a few tbsp of the almond milk. Whisk into a smooth paste.

Transfer the rest of the almond milk into a large pan and slowly bring to the boil.

Pour in the cornflour mixture, along with the sugar, lemon zest and vanilla extract, and whisk continuously untill the mixture thickens. This took about 10 minutes when I made it!

Meanwhile place a tsp of jam in the bottom of some small ramekins.
Once the mixture has started to thicken, immediately remove from the heat and continue to whisk until it has stopped thickening.

Pour into the prepared ramekins and leave in the fridge for a few hours or overnight to set.

thumb_DSC05995_1024

One thought on “Biancomangiare alle Mandorle”

Leave a Reply

