Red Currant Liquor

A deliciously refreshing liquor flavoured with tart and fruity red currants.

thumb_DSC05963_1024 

Back in July I started to make some summer fruit liquors, among them was a red currant liquor, which has been developing for the last 12 weeks, and which I finally got to bottle and taste this week!

The flavour of this liquor is absolutely delicious, and dare I say it, better than the sloe and elderberry liquor I made last year! The red currants have given the liquor a really juicy, summery taste which I love, I’m sad that I only made one batch as I’m sure I will have finished it in no time.

thumb_DSC05965_1024

This is not a liquor to be mixed, as it is perfect served neat over ice.

I will include the beginning stages of the recipe again in this post. If you can get your hands on some red currants then I can really recommend that you try this recipe!

Variations: I think adding some other flavours to this liquor could work nicely, I would like to try adding some lemon or orange peel to the berries.

thumb_DSC05966_1024

Ingredients: Makes around 900ml:

  • 700g red currants
  • 750ml vodka
  • 200g sugar

To Make:

Weigh out 700g of red currants, wash and transfer to a large kilner jar.

thumb_DSC05590_1024

Muddle the red currants in the jar, to release their juices, then add the sugar.

thumb_DSC05591_1024

thumb_DSC05592_1024

Pour over the vodka and shake to infuse. Leave in a cool dark place for 3 months, shaking every few days.

thumb_DSC05593_1024 thumb_DSC05596_1024

Three months later…..

Sieve the redcurrant flavoured vodka into a clean pan, and discard the red currants.

Use a funnel to pour the liquor into a sterilised glass bottle. Seal, label and store in a cool dark place.

thumb_DSC05953_1024

thumb_DSC05954_1024

You can use the liquor immediately, but it will only improve with age.

thumb_DSC05962_1024

One thought on “Red Currant Liquor”

Leave a Reply

