Sicily

Some of the delicious food and drink I tried on holiday in Sicily!

thumb_DSC05939_1024

I recently went on a nice week long holiday to Sicily. I absolutely loved it, and I would definitely go back as I feel like we hardly got to explore anything in only one week!

We spent three days in Cefalu on the North coast, and then five days around Mount Etna to do some walking. Before we went I found some excellent posts on the internet detailing the wonderful foods I would be able to try in Sicily, so I tried my best to sample as many of them as possible, but in 7 days it was a difficult task!

thumb_DSC05855_1024

thumb_DSC05862_1024

I tried as many new and exciting foods as a could, and all of them were absolutely delicious. I’m looking forward to trying to recreate them at home, and I’ve already ordered myself a Sicilian patisserie cookbook!

So here were some of the best foods I got to have in Sicily:

1. Seafood

thumb_IMAG0261 (1)_1024

I obviously had to fit in as much delicious seafood as possible when we staying by the sea in Cefalu! On our second night we had a lovely meal on the seafront and we both had some amazing seafood pasta. We had tagholini with mixed seafood in a tomatoey sauce which was really good, and fish filled ravioli in a pistachio sauce which was much more unusual but still very delicious!

thumb_IMAG0812_1024

thumb_IMAG0813_1024

2. Meat

Once we had moved inland to Mount Etna it was all about the meat, and we found an amazing restaurant down the road which did lots of lovely meat dishes. My favourite was involiti – which were rolls of tender pork loin stuffed with mozzarella and spinach and coated in crispy breadcrumbs, it was divine!

thumb_IMAG0805_1024

We also ordered a beef carpaccio for starter one night, which was amazing!

thumb_IMAG0297 (1)_1024

3. Pizza

Somehow we only managed to have 2 pizzas during our whole time in Sicily, and unfortunately we didn’t get to try a sffincione, which is the traditional Sicilian pizza, however we did have some lovely pizzas for dinner one night, and I managed to find my favourite pizza topping; Carbonara! This was probably one of the best pizzas I’ve eve had due the the sheer amount of toppings! It had three eggs on top rather than the usual one, and the covering of cream and cheese was very generous! My boyfriend went for a tomato based pizza which was also very tasty! I wish you could get them like that in England!

thumb_IMAG0810_1024

thumb_IMAG0811_1024

4. Pasta

I actually didn’t get to try as much pasta as I would have liked, but I did get a delicious meal of wild boar ragu which was delicious!

thumb_IMAG0299 (1)_1024

5. Arancini
This is one of the foods that I was most eager to try before I went to Sicily. It is basically a ball of risotto rice stuffed with either meat or cheese, coated in breadcrumbs and deep fried. I was not disappointed, as they were really very delicious! Mine was filled with a bolognese type sauce.

thumb_IMAG0282 (1)_1024

6. Pistachios

One of the other things I was most excited about before I got to Sicily was the pistachios. They grow well on the island so they are very prevalent in the food. As pistachio is one of my favourite flavours I was very excited about all the pistachio themed food I would be able to eat!

I had a lot of pistachio desserts which were all delicious!

Pistachio Cake:

We had this cake while we were visiting Bronte, which is the pistachio capital of Sicily! it was made up of very light layers of sponge , flavoured with pistachios, sandwiched together with pistachio cream, and coated in more pistachios – Delicious!

thumb_IMAG0809_1024

Pistachio Semifreddo:
I ordered this for dessert one night and if was amazing!

thumb_IMAG0807_1024

7. Desserts:

Chocolate and Pistachio Cake:

This was an amazingly rich chocolate cake, layered with chocolate and pistachio mousse.

thumb_IMAG0803_1024

Cannoli:

Cannoli are one of the desserts that I come across on the internet before our holiday, so I was really keen to try it. It is basically a crispy cylindrical biscuit, filled with sweet ricotta and decorated with pistachios or candied peel. I had this while we visited Taormina and ate it looking at the beautiful view. I really liked this, although I struggled to eat the whole thing as it was very big and extremely sweet!

thumb_IMAG0286_1024

White Cake:

I don’t remember the name of this cake, but it was really good! It was a pastry-like case, filled with a really thick custard and topped with caramelised almonds.

thumb_IMAG0301_1024

Tiramisu:

thumb_IMAG0804_1024

8. Purchases!

thumb_DSC05970_1024

I also bought a few Sicilian treats home with me! I bought some pistachio pesto, which we had for dinner the day after we got back to extend the Italian feeling! it was lovely with fresh pasta and cripsy bacon.

thumb_DSC05972_1024

thumb_DSC05974_1024

I also bought some pistachio liquor which I haven’t got round to trying yet, but I’m hoping it will be tasty!

7 thoughts on “Sicily”

  1. Super post – fabulous scenery photography – and Oh my – were you on a culinary tour?
    I want to try them all but my dream meal would probably be those little pork rolls for an entrée, one of the seafood pastas followed by the Pistachio semi-freddo and I’d love to try that Liquor !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I might have a go at making those little porc rolls myself, but I do not have a deep fryer, what do you reckon to shallow frying to crisp the breadcrumbs and finishing off in the oven?
    I know how you feel, I felt the same returning from Tuscany at the end of August. I love Italy (and it’s food!)
    Where are you?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I think shallow frying or baking would probably work! Yes I did love Italy, we usually holiday in Germany/ Austria so it was a bit of a change! I’m living just north of London atm 🙂

      Like

  3. I have yet to visit Austria and Germany – would love to, I have only ever been to Berlin as I have friends there.
    We usually stay in France, or go to the UK for August, but fly out to Greece for a week while there.
    I used to holiday a lot in Italy (hence my name linda ravello!) but this year was the first time that Marc had been, and now he wants to buy a house there!
    So I think we will be returning – I have just begun learning Italian lol
    Ciao

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

