Lime and Coconut Drizzle Cake

Coconut and lime sponge, drenched in a sweet, tangy lime syrup.Β 

thumb_DSC05795_1024

Who doesn’t love a classic lemon drizzle cake? It’s one of my favourites because I love the way the tangy syrup gets the sponge so moist and sticky.

I had a bit of a craving for one at the weekend, but I wanted to see if I could mix it up a bit, so I made a lime and coconut version.

thumb_DSC05787_1024

I brought this cake into work and everyone agreed that lime and coconut is easily as good as, if not better than lemon drizzle!

This was a really quick and easy cake to make, so I definitely recommend it for an afternoon treat πŸ™‚

Variations: You could change this into a classic lemon drizzle cake or you could avg some pineapple to the sponge for a pins colada drizzle cake!

thumb_DSC05791_1024

Ingredients: Makes 12-15 Squares

The Sponge:

  • 150g butter
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 150g coconut cream
  • zest of 2 limes
  • 2 eggs
  • 150g self raising flour

The Syrup:

  • zest of 2 limes
  • juice of 4-5 limes
  • 150g icing sugar

thumb_DSC05788_1024

To Make:

The Sponge:

Preheat the oven to 180C, and line a rectangular baking tray with grease-proof paper.

Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy – this should take around 5 minutes. Then fold in the eggs one at a time, followed by the coconut cream, zest and finally fold in the flour.

Spoon the mixture into the prepared baking tray and even out. Bake in the preheated oven for 20-25 minutes, until cooked through and golden brown.

Leave to cool slightly in the tin before pouring over the syrup.

The Syrup:

Combine the lime juice, zest and icing sugar in a small pan and heat until the sugar dissolves. Taste at this point to check that the syrup is sweet/sour enough for you.

Poke holes along the top of the sponge with a skewer, and then pour the syrup all over the sponge, making sure you reach all the edges and corners.

Leave to cool for around 15 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool before serving.

Slice into 12-15 squares and serve!

thumb_DSC05792_1024

3 thoughts on “Lime and Coconut Drizzle Cake”

  1. Oh my, I am not a huge cake fan, but for this I will make an exception…..I don’t think that I can get creamed coconut here (maybe in an Asian store) and slef raising flour is difficult to come by, but I will stock up when in UK with the car in December. I have just returned from the dentists and I am starving and cannot eat for 2 hours!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

