Orange & Passion Fruit Madeira Cake

Rich madeira sponge flavoured with orange and topped with a sweet passion fruit glaze.

thumb_DSC05741_1024

This my first Bake-Off inspired post from the new series! In the first episode the signature bake was a madeira cake, and all the cakes they made looked delicious, so I thought I’d give it a try myself!

I had never actually tried a madeira cake before, but I love citrusy flavours –  I don’t know why I’ve never tried to make one before! I got my recipe from my Delia Smith Cake cookbook.

thumb_DSC05754_1024

The recipe is for a classic madeira cake, but I have used orange rather than lemon, and I’ve added a passionfruit glaze to make it a bit more special.

I am delighted with how this cake has turned out, I even managed to get a big crack of the surface, which is supposed to be the sign of a good madeira cake!

Now that I have made a madeira cake, I realise how versatile this cake is, and I will definitely be trying some different flavour combinations, especially some of the amazing ones I saw on bake-off!

thumb_DSC05755_1024

Variations: You could use lemon or lime instead of the orange and passionfruit.

Ingredients: Serves 6-8

The Madeira Sponge:

  • 225g self raising flour
  • 175g spreadable butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 115g caster sugar
  • 2 oranges

The Passion Fruit Glaze:

  • 150g icing sugar
  • 2 passion fruits

thumb_DSC05731_1024

To Make:

The Sponge:

Preheat the oven to 170C and line a circular cake tin with grease-proof paper.

Combine the flour, butter, eggs, sugar and grated zest in a large bowl. Using an electric hand whisk, combine them for about 1 minute until you have a smooth consistency.

Then squeeze in the juice of 1 orange  – you need enough to make a creamy consistency that drops off a spoon easily when tapped on the side of the bowl. Be careful not to add too much juice – it needs to be a little stiffer than a sponge cake mix.

Spoon into the prepared cake tin and level out. Bake in the preheated oven for 25-30 minutes, until golden brown and cooked though – hopefully a big crack will appear on the top!

Transfer to a wore rack and leave to cool before icing.

thumb_IMAG0759_1024

The Icing:

In a small bowl combine the inside of one passion fruit and the strained juice of the other. Then stir in the icing sugar, to from a smooth paste.

thumb_IMAG0760_1024

Pour over the top of the cooled madeira cake and leave to set.

Cut into 6-8 generous slices and serve! This would be delicious with a dollop of mascarpone or creme fraiche.

thumb_DSC05758_1024

Leave a Reply

