Potato Cakes

Deliciously fluffy, chewy patties of potato, fried in butter for a crispy finish.

thumb_DSC05402_1024

Potato Cakes were one of my favourite snacks when I was younger, especially when they were covered in baked beans and cheese.

I have always wanted to make them, but never actually got round to it. This weekend I was trying to think of something savoury to bake, and my boyfriend requested that I tried to make potato cakes like his grandma used to make them, so I had to give it a go!

thumb_DSC05408_1024

I had a look online and saw that the recipe was really very simple, just mashed potato, egg, butter and flour!

I made half of my potato cakes plain, and the for the other half I added some grated cheddar cheese and chives, for a bit of extra flavour.

These potato cakes taste really good, and they are great as a snack or as part of a meal. Next time I’m making mash potato, I will definitely make extra so that I can do a batch of potato cakes!

thumb_DSC05405_1024

Variations: you could mix in whatever you want to the potato cake mix. I think some little chunks of bacon would be great, or some onions.

Ingredients: Makes 25 Small Potato Cakes

  • 1kg mashed potato (mashed with milk and butter)
  • 1 egg
  • 25g butter, melted
  • 150g plain flour plus extra for kneading
  • 2 tbsp grated cheddar cheese (optional)
  • handful of chopped chives (optional)

thumb_DSC05403_1024

To Make:

In a large bowl combine the mashed potato with the melted butter, egg and four (and the cheddar and chives if using) and mix thoroughly.

thumb_IMAG0542_1024

Turn out onto a floured work surface and knead for a few minutes until it forms a doughy like consistency  – add more flour if it is required.

thumb_IMAG0543_1024

Roll out the dough to about 1.5cm thickness, and use a cookie cutter to cut out individual potato cakes.

thumb_IMAG0544_1024

thumb_IMAG0545_1024

Fry the potato cakes in butter, over a medium heat for about 3 minutes either side, until golden brown and crispy. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

Serve warm with a good covering of butter.

thumb_DSC05406_1024

Leave a Reply

