Chocolate and Banana Rolls

Sweet bread rolls filled with banana and rich dark chocolate, covered in melted chocolate drizzles.

thumb_DSC05363_1024

At the end of the week, I find myself (as usual!) with for a bunch of over ripe bannanas. The past few times I have used the bananas in cakes (banana milkshake cupcakes and salted caramel and banana blondies), so this time I decided to completely break with tradition and use the bananas in some bread!

It’s been a while since I made some sweet breakfast rolls so I thought I’d see how banana and chocolate swirls would turn out. And I would definately say it was a success!

thumb_DSC05358_1024

I think I might actually prefer these to cinnamon rolls, as all the chocolate just makes them that bit more luxurious and indulgent for breakfast!

I’m going to be taking these over to Fiesta Friday #72 this week hosted by ,  Quinn @Dad Whats 4 Dinner and Naina @Spice in the City! Hope to see you there 🙂

Variations: You could use milk or white chocolate for a sweeter filling, and you could change the bananas to any other fruit, I think raspberries would be delicious!

thumb_DSC05362_1024

Ingredients: Makes 12 Rolls:

The Dough:

  • 500g Strong White Flour
  • 10g Salt
  • 12g Fast Action Yeast
  • 50g Caster Sugar
  • 250ml Milk
  • 1 Egg

The Filling:

  • 3 Bananas
  • 50 Butter
  • 50g Dark Brown Sugar
  • 1 tbsp Cocoa Powder
  • 100g Dark Chocolate

thumb_DSC05361_1024

To Make:

Combine the flour, salt, sugar, yeast, milk and egg in a large bowl, and mix to form a rough dough. Turn out onto a work surface and knead for 10 minutes, until smooth and elastic. Return to the bowl and prove for 1 hour.

image

image

image

Combine the butter, sugar and coca powder in a small pan, and heat until melted and combined. Slice the bannana into thin rounds, and break the chocolate into chunks.

Turn out the proved dough, knock out the air and stretch into a large rectangle.

image

Brush over the butter and sugar mixture in a thin layer, completely covering the dough. Then lay over the banana chunks and chocolate. Roll up the dough and divide into 12 rolls.

image

Place the rolls on oiled baking trays, cover in clingfilm, and prove for a further hour.

image

Preheat the oven to 180C, and bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes until golden brown and cooked through.

image

Transfer to a wire rack to cool, serve as they are, or drizzle with some melted dark chocolate for an extra chocolatey finish!

thumb_DSC05366_1024

8 thoughts on “Chocolate and Banana Rolls”

    1. Thanks! 😀
      Yes, I’m always trying to think of new things to do with my old bananas! I don’t know why I don’t just buy less……but then I suppose I wouldn’t have an excuse to bake!

      Like

Leave a Reply

