Lilac Syrup

Sweet sugar syrup flavoured with fragrant lilac flowers.

thumb_DSC05274_1024

Lilacs were one of the edible flowers that I really wanted for my edible balcony garden, but unfortunately they come on a large bush so they definitely wouldn’t fit! So I was delighted when I came across a big bush in the countryside, while on a walk last weekend! I was originally looking for elderflowers, but I don’t think they are quite out yet, so I took a few heads of lilac home with me instead.

I had a quick look online for recipe ideas, and it seemed as though a syrup was the best option for me, because I want to be able to use the syrup in cakes and desserts, but you can also make a lilac cordial or jelly!

The syrup has turned out delicious, the lovely perfume of the lilac flours has flavoured the syrup really well, and to me it tastes like parma violets. Hopefully I will be able to use it to make some parma violet cupcakes this week (post coming soon!). I think this would also be really tasty poured over some vanilla ice cream, or mixed into a cocktail for a sweet, floral finish.

Lilac syrup would make a really good gift if you know anyone with birthdays coming up soon!

thumb_DSC05276_1024

Ingredients: Makes around 800ml

  • 3 lilac heads
  • 500g sugar
  • 500ml water
  • 1tsp pink or purple food colouring (optional)

thumb_DSC05283_1024

To Make:

Sterilise a large 750ml bottle.

Pick the flowers off the lilac heads and set aside.

Meanwhile combine the water and sugar in a pan, and heat until the sugar dissolves. Remove from the heat and stir in the lilac flowers and food colouring.

Leave to infuse for 5 minutes, before straining the syrup to remove the flowers.

Pour the syrup into the sterilised bottle and seal.

The syrup should keep in the fridge for a few months.

thumb_DSC05280_1024

2 thoughts on “Lilac Syrup”

Leave a Reply

