Seedy Sourdough Loaf

Crunchy, chewy sourdough loaf, studded with mixed seeds. 

DSC04815

This is the first variation recipe I have done with my sourdough ferment. Last time I had a ferment, I used the same basic recipe every time I made the bread, which got a bit boring! So this time I’ve decided to experiment with diffferent fillings and shapes, to see how many exciting breads I can make from my ferment.

Here, I have used the same basic recipe as in my first sourdough post, but I’ve used a loaf tin to shape the bread, and I’ve added some nuts and seeds, to give some extra flavour.

This made a lovely robust bread with lots and lots of flavour, much more exciting than a normal sandwich loaf! It tasted delicious with a bowl of soup at lunchtime.

DSC04812

Ingredients: Makes 1 Loaf

  • 200g Sourdough Ferment
  • 400g Strong White Bread flour
  • 75g Wholemeal Flour
  • 10g Salt
  • 300g Water
  • 200g Mixed Nuts and Seeds

DSC04817

To Make:

Combine all ingredients for the sourdough in a large bowl (except the seeds), until well combined and the mixture begins to form a ball of sticky dough.

Turn out onto a work surface and knead for 10 minutes until smooth and elastic. Form into a tight ball, and return to a well floured bowl. Cover and leave to prove for around 4-6 hours, until bubbles appear at the top of the dough.

Turn out the proved dough and knead in the mixed seeds. Form into a rectangle by flattening the dough and then folding it into the middle. Coat in flour and transfer to a greased loaf tin, leave to rest for 16-18 hours.

Preheat the oven to 200°C

Slash the top of the bread in a criss-cross pattern and bake in the preheated oven for 40-45 minutes, until evenly browned, and sounds hollow when tapped. Leave to cool on a wire rack.

Slice and serve! Delicious with a hot bowl of soup.

DSC04814

Leave a Reply

